This is from a couple feminists — responding to a comment I made.

Image

Pvblivs • 7 hours ago
It comes as no surprise to me that someone who perpetuates the lie of the “patriarchy” would have no tolerance for those who reveal the truth of universal feminist misandry. The fact is that, even today, most women are not feminists. The claim that ” When a person tells me that ‘all,’ ‘most,’ or hell even ‘many’ feminists hate men, what that person is telling me is that ze doesn’t give a **** about women” is a lie. It’s just that they are no longer content to throw men under the bus to appease feminists.

If the claims of feminism (e.g. the “patriarchy”) were true, feminism couldn’t even get a toe-hold. But they are not true. Feminism relies on the fact that men sacrifice themselves (and have for a long time) to protect women from even the hint of injustice. So, feminists made up stories and men did their bidding. But, now, some men have come to see feminism for what it really is — a man-hating, female supremacist organization. And feminists don’t like open eyes.

Neither you, nor your supporters would want to trade places with a typical man. That would involve working twelve-hour days at a horrid job only to see 90% of the paycheck taken away to pay the alimony from a no-fault divorce (the ex got bored with the marriage.) Oh, you may well want to trade places with one of the elite. But the common man? You’ve got it better than they do and you know it.
0 2 •Reply•Share ›

fannie MOD • 2 hours ago • parent
I’ll leave this comment up just so I can, in the future, point to this new guy who thinks he knows everything about me, my beliefs, my “supporters,” and what kind of feminism I “perpetuate” after skimming exactly one of my blog posts for like 10 seconds and yet who somehow, for some reason thinks he has lots to teach the laydeez here about feminism because of his personal experience with his ex-wife.

Dude’s obviously mistaken this blog for a place where men can just say [****] and have it automatically be taken as 100% correct just ‘cuz a man said it.

So on that note, let me just re-iterate a couple of points I made in my post:
When a person tells me that “all,” “most,” or [****] even “many” feminists hate men, what that person is telling me is that ze doesn’t give a [****] about women. And if someone doesn’t give a [****] about women, why on gawd’s green earth should we ever listen to what they have to say about how we can do feminism better?

1 •Reply•Share ›

Fede04 • 3 hours ago • parent −
‘My ex-wife was mean to me, and that proves feminism is wrong!!”
You’re right that I wouldn’t want to trade places with you, Pvblivs. True, I’d automatically be paid a helluva lot more for the same work, and I wouldn’t be a member of the sex class but instead considered fully human. But I couldn’t stand being as hopelessly idiotic.
1 •Reply•Share ›

 

You can find the original at http://fanniesroom.blogspot.com/2012/09/on-myth-of-universal-feminist-misandry.html

There are some things that I would like to point out. First: I am not going by personal experience with an ex-wife. I’ve never been married. I saw what marriage and divorce did to so many men that I decided that marriage was a bad plan. So I personally was not burned by a divorce. Second: While I fully expected her (the site master) to delete my truth as inconvenient to her goals, she still admits that she only kept dissent up because she thought she could successfully ridicule it. Third: I did not claim to know everything about her or her suppoters. In fact, I claimed very little about her and her supporters. I claim that they are able to see that (despite what they claim) they are better off than most men and that they are smart enough not to want to trade places with someone worse off than themselves. Fourth: I already know it is futile to try to convince die-hard feminists. But exposing their reactions to the undecided can be quite effective. Fannie has such contempt for all beings male that she can’t conceive of me being able to think like that.

Okay, on the marriage thing. I know that not all marriages end in divorce. I even know that not all divorces result in a vindictive (or cunning if it was pre-planned) ex-wife taking the husband to the cleaners. But I am not a good enough judge of individuals’ character to weed out the “bad apples” and I would probably wind up with one.

“When a person tells me that ‘all,’ ‘most,’ or [****] even ‘many’ feminists hate men, what that person is telling me is that ze doesn’t give a [****] about women. And if someone doesn’t give a [****] about women, why on gawd’s green earth should we ever listen to what they have to say about how we can do feminism better?”

To conclude that feminists hate men does not require that someone not care about women. If I believed Fannie really thought that, I’d consider her a moron. But I don’t. She’s spouting off a sound bite. Like most sound bites, it proves unsound when one examines it. But the aim is an emotional reaction, not a logical one. It also seeks to prevent people from listening to dissenting perspectives. I don’t think there is a way to “do feminism [aka female supremacy] better.” I want to expose it so that people don’t buy into it.

2 thoughts on “This is from a couple feminists — responding to a comment I made.

  1. Sorry, but I think I’d have to agree with your critics on this one. There does seem to be quite alot of personal stuff in your statements, which while that’s no bad thing, can leave you open to such comments. It might have been better to cite some stats in support of your contention.

  2.      I will accept that you think it understandable that they mistakenly thought I was speaking from personal experience. Now, do you agree with them that appeal to ridicule is the way to go? One of my critics criticized me for “thinking [I] knew everything about [her]” from such a short interaction. Even if you think the mistake was reasonable (and you can make a case for that) she still fits into her own criticism.
         As to the gathering of actual statistics: That would be (in my opinion) too much effort for a comment that I expected to be deleted and that I knew would fall on deaf ears anyway. If I could have been assured that a comment with supporting statistics would remain (based on the reaction, it probably wouldn’t as she would have decided she couldn’t successfully ridicule it, as she says, the only reason she left it up) then it might have been worth the effort to show how much they don’t care about facts.
         Strictly speaking, it is my claim that their comments would have been inappropriate even if I had been speaking from personal experience. They didn’t argue against the position that I held, or even that my [supposed] personal experiences was distorting my judgement (both tactics that I would consider reasonable.) They attacked me personally.

Leave a Reply

