A matter of interpretation

     I recently saw another thing attempting to refute the notion that we only use 10% of our brains by showing that the whole brain is active most of the time.  But I always interpreted the statistic differently.  Let me give a different example.  The whole power company is very active all the time.  But I don’t use the whole power company.  Most of it is off-limits to me.  I only have use of the little bit of electricity that gets sent to my home.  I always interpreted the 10% statistic in a similar manner.  I understood it to say that we are able to use 10% of the brain for whatever purposes we choose, while the remainder is dedicated to behind-the-scenes activity (like staying alive) and is beyond our control.  It seems to me that these people are trying to refute an idea that no one believes.

Leave a comment