I would like to talk about the “us vs. them” attitude of fundamentalist christians.

     Fundamentalist christians see everything in terms of their faith.  In their minds outsiders have no rights.  They feel it is proper to lie to or about outsiders with impunity.  They wouldn’t even see anything wrong with taking a machine gun to an outsider.  It is important to understand this mindset.

     In the minds of most people who are even aware of the events, Kent Hovind is in prison for tax evasion.  To a fundamentalist christian, he is being “persecuted for his beliefs.”  In their minds, that money was a “blessing of the lord” and the “atheists at the IRS” had no right to it.  They agree with Hovind that he was doing his duty by not reporting that income.

     Last year, Jim Gardner talked about Sye Tenb and Eric Hovind sold DVDs of an edited version of a conversation they had, quite contrary to their agreement.  This is entirely in keeping with their beliefs.  They feel it is their right to tell any lie to get you tp dp pr say what they want.  And then, if it’s a recording, they edit out the parts that don’t help them.and sell a very pro-christian work.

     You will not see one fundamentalist christian criticize another.  It doesn’t happen.  I did a post recently about how Norman shamelessly libelled Alex.  Do you think Dan stepped in and said, “okay, that’s too much”?  Not a chance.  Because that is the fundamentalist christian philosophy.  Any lie, any misdeed is acceptable if it advances the cause of fundamentalist christianity.

8 thoughts on “I would like to talk about the “us vs. them” attitude of fundamentalist christians.

  1. You’re spot on, people like Dan Marvin will never ever put it to Bob that he’s gone too far. Surely they must see how bad Bob and his ilk make their religion look?

  2. Complete hogwash! You compliment me for letting things decent, as the example of Alex calling me a woman’s private part, and then you complain when I do not chastise the Christians for saying something YOU perceive as bad. This is crazy.

    If you don’t think I call foul on Christians, you’re wrong. It’s just I do it on a private level. Yes, even Sye and I have had our differences and hashed out privately. This is not a bragging point at all, but just today I rebuked my own son for what he said (yes publicly). So, your point is completely and utterly baseless. Now, I will allow things to be said, I get out of the way, and not become the police of the Christian community true. I will let the argument at hand happen. In fact, I usually foul things up when I get involved anyway. Alex can attest to that as I posted a retraction a bit ago.

    If we are here to reveal the truth, so be it. If a professing Christian, as an example, starts to cuss up a storm and the Atheists catch him in lie after lie, then I would love for that to happen. Simply, because we do want the truth to be heard. So the question to you is, How are you absolutely certain this post of your is truth? Unless you write programs that sniff and capture private emails of Christians, then you’re a fraud with bare assertions trying to stir the pot like you’re a part of a sewing circle.

    You’re being a dork. I mean that in the most loving way. In other words, cut it out.

  3. Dan:

         “If you don’t think I call foul on [c]hristians, you’re wrong. It’s just I do it on a private level.”
         You are very public when you cry foul on non-christians.
         “You compliment me for letting things decent, as the example of Alex calling me a woman’s private part,”
         Somehow, that particular item doesn’t sound like the thing I would compliment. I do, however, recall complimenting you on not simply banning all who dare to speak against your claims as so many christians are wont to do. I do not suggest that it is inappropriate to decide what type of language you will allow on your blog.
         “and then you complain when I do not chastise the Christians for saying something YOU perceive as bad.”
         Actually, I say that your faith makes you see everything your fellow christians do as “good” or “acceptable.” I gave an example, on Norman’s part, that I believe most people would find to be wrong. That is, people who are not fundamentalist christian will perceive it as wrong, and you yourself would perceive it as wrong if Norman were not a fellow fundamentalist christian. My point is that you only seem to see something as wrong when outsiders do it. Claiming you criticize your fellows in private when you criticize outsiders in the open does not alter that appearance.
         Simply put, if you never openly criticized anyone you would have a point, for yourself. But I made an even more general claim. You will not see a fundamentalist christian say something another fundamentalist christian did is wrong. Saying that it is hidden does not contradict me. You quite often see a fundamentalist christian say that something an outsider does is wrong. And I wager it is done for public embarrassment as much as anything else.

  4. “I do not chastise the Christians for saying something YOU perceive as bad”

    Dan, which part of what Bob said do you NOT think is bad? The lie that I’m an alcoholic? The lie that I’m a user of prostitutes? The lie that I’m jobless? The lie that I’m homeless? The lie that I have anger issues? Which of those are you all about? Which are you a fan of? Please, tell us all.

  5. I made an even more general claim. You will not see a fundamentalist christian say something another fundamentalist christian did is wrong. Saying that it is hidden does not contradict me.

    True, but it does mean that, should you concede that it’s done in private, your assertion is entirely unsupported.

  6.      I don’t concede and I don’t believe that it is done in private. His criticisms of non-christians are very much done in public.

  7. I don’t believe that it is done in private

    Not to be a stick in the mud, but again, whether you concede it or not, you’ve made an unsupported assertion. As a vocal critic of Christian fundamentalists, I wouldn’t feel comfortable making it myself.

    It seems reasonable (if perhaps a bit too charitable) to concede that it does happen. You only need browse the Christian-Only forums at CARM to see examples of it.

  8. Whateverman:

         You might do well to look at Dan’s latest post in which he actively supports Sye having edited and sold excerpts from the “Fundamentally Flawed” podcasts contrary to his own agreement. I think my claim is rather well supported. I see over and over, where fundamentalist christians are attacking the actions of outsiders. I do not see them criticize their own. Indeed, I see your claim that my assertion is unsupported as unsupported (and contrary to evidence) itself. But that would just be a bickering match. And I do not want to get into that.
         I am forever aware that, should evidence come in against my position, I may have to make modifications. So far, I am still confident in my statement and I continue to stand by it. Your belief that my statement is unsupported has been noted. But I do not agree.

Leave a Reply

